Why are they afraid of change?

 As this thing builds steam, a few negative comments have been left. It would be unrealistic to expect everyone to agree with our stance on this issue and I have and will continue to post every comment left here and on my other blogs. I certainly would not want to infringe on anyone else’s freedom of speech if you know what I mean.

 Someone from Needville finally commented here and the message was really kind of sad and strange. I hope the poster returns to explain some of the comments a bit more. I’ll post it and my response before discussing it further.

 

  1. mm Says:
    June 23, 2008 at 4:25 pm   editIf Needville is such a joke to you, why do you want to move here? If you have to fight and make fun of the school board and principal, why would you want your son to attend a school they are in charge of? Are you going to look up definitions and call organizations every time your son doesn’t get his way?We have had citizens like this before….this attention you are trying so hard to draw to yourself and your poor son will do you no good! Please don’t flatter yourself into thinking we are afraid of you, amazed by your different looks, or trying to hide our meeting dates from you!!! Do you not realize the can of worms that will open if they let this one rule slide? “The whole focus seems to be on state testing scores rather than on actually educating the kids. At least thats what I got out of tehemeeting.” That’s right…that’s all you got out of it. Your focus is on a haircut…now tell me where that ranks in education. The scores are determined by how the students score on the tests, which is determined by what else….the education they receive!!!!!!!

    We are a respectable community because we obey rules and respect authority. We have a highly sought after school district because of the rules and how they are enforced. We didn’t get this status, which you call “rural”, by letting people push us over! With the indian background, heritage, etc, don’t you know the meaning of tradition, rules, RESPECT? Well this is Needville’s tradition! We live here because we love the town, the community, the traditions, and yes, even the rules. You do realize we are not here to cater to you, right?

    So take your dictionary, your snazzy phone, and your loads of free time, and move to a school who doesn’t care what the kids look like, dress like, or act like….and see what kind of education he gets. You’ll be fighting much more important things than just a rule in a dress code.

  2. thestitchwitch Says:
    June 23, 2008 at 6:01 pm   editI’m moving there because we own a beautiful piece of property there and last time I checked, it was my right to do so. I want my son to go to school there because that is the school we are zoned for. I would fight just as hard no matter what school he was going to attend if they did the same thing. Its not about my son “getting his way”, it is about his constitutionally protected rights.I would rather you not be afraid, I would rather the school board respect the laws put in place for teh protection of ALL people regardless of their religious affiliation. Please explain what this “can of worms that will open” means exactly. Perhaps I am missing something but won’t it mean that the school board will have to respect the civil rights of their students? How is this a problem?

    Test scores don’t always mean that the students are getting the education they need. It only means they have been taught to pass the standardized tests. I would think that the school board would be more interested in using their funds to combat the roach and mouse problem they are having rather than have to spend it on lawyers.

    My focus is not just about a hair cut. My focus is on the fact that the Needville ISD refuses to allow children of any religion that requires long hair on boys or children that wear religious head coverings to attend school there. This is illegal and wrong. How is that so hard to understand? I would hope that bigotry is something to be ashamed of, not proud of.

    I would like to believe that Needville is a respectable community, I really would. I hope that the majority of the Needville citizens are more progressive than the school board is. I like it there; it is quiet and peaceful and my child will get to grow up away from the bigger city areas around here and be educated in a high rated school district. We look forward to living on our own farm where we can grow our own food and see the stars at night.

    Respect is an important thing, you are right. It must be earned though. I gave them the respect of discussing this issue in private and providing documentation to prove that this is my son’s heritage and right. When they ignored the proof and chose instead to tread on my son’s rights, I saw no reason to keep this private any longer. I don’t expect anyone to cater to me, I expect them to obey the law just as I do. I would never attempt to deny someone their rights, why is it ok for the school district to do it? Again is bigotry something to be proud of?

    I will not move. I will not cut my son’s hair. I will continue to fight this and continue to post the progress of our fight for as long as it takes.

What I am most interested in is this: “Do you not realize the can of worms that will open if they let this one rule slide?”

What are they so afraid will happen if they do what they are supposed to and stop denying students their religious freedom? Are they afraid that their children will learn to be more accepting of others than they are? Wouldn’t that be a good thing? Or is the fear that once all students are welcome in that school district; that the ethnic breakdown will change? I hope that is not the case.

I really don’t see how one can have respect in their own community when bigotry is the norm. Really, proud of rules that force someone to choose between getting an education or respecting their own religious practices?

“We are a respectable community because we obey rules and respect authority. We have a highly sought after school district because of the rules and how they are enforced. We didn’t get this status, which you call “rural”, by letting people push us over! With the indian background, heritage, etc, don’t you know the meaning of tradition, rules, RESPECT? Well this is Needville’s tradition!”

I certainly hope that I am just misunderstanding the words here. I hope that the “tradition” of Needville is not denying the civil rights of its students. I doubt the overbearing rules of the dress code have much to do with the success of the Needville ISD’s educational program. I would hope that success came from good teachers and fairness for all students.

7 Responses to “Why are they afraid of change?”

  1. CR Says:

    First off, I read in one of your other blogs how you plan to move to Needville to live “a quiet” life. How do you plan to “fulfill your dream” of living a peaceful life if before you have even moved here you can’t abide by simple rules. NISD respects all religions, and although you think you might have done your “thorough research” you are only stirring the pot. If you could show in writing or have your “religious leader” show full-on proof that his hair cannot be cut, then so be it. Until then, you are losing respect to all of the members of our community by “opening this can of worms,” If you wouldn’t have started all the 15+ web-blogs and notified the several different organizations because of your own misunderstanding, you wouldn’t have this much stress and the problem would be solved with all due respect to your religious beliefs. I agree 100% with mm on this one. We have had people come to the school and start problems, although yours is religious and therefore respected by NISD there was NO NEED WHATSOEVER to start all of this non sense you call a sufficient complaint.

    In your unruly comment, “I certainly hope that I am just misunderstanding the words here. I hope that the “tradition” of Needville is not denying the civil rights of its students. I doubt the overbearing rules of the dress code have much to do with the success of the Needville ISD’s educational program. I would hope that success came from good teachers and fairness for all students.” It makes me wonder what school you came from. Needville respects all religious traditions if legitimate, and you might not understand but within NISD’s schooling, not only will you get a recognized education, but you will grow up developing a good sense of character, respect, and understanding for life. NISD is always welcome wherever the students may go on a field trip because of the known behavior and conduct of the students and faculty.

  2. CR Says:

    “I would think that the school board would be more interested in using their funds to combat the roach and mouse problem they are having rather than have to spend it on lawyers.”

    I missed this, but do understand…You are the one who chose to move into a “rural” area.

    “Really, proud of rules that force someone to choose between getting an education or respecting their own religious practices?”

    Never did anyone in Needville ever say anything to that level. If you have such a problem with the school, why don’t you just home school? Hey, not only would it save your hassle, but it would save gas money.

  3. thestitchwitch Says:

    So, thet fact that my son can’t go to school like all the other kids unless we cut his hair is not the same as choosing between his education and honoring his religion?

    I do believe that is what all of this is about. So, yes someone in Needville did say that. I have a hard time believing you when you say that Needville respects all religions when not only is my son not welcome without a haircut, niether are Sikh, Muslim, Jewish, and Rasta children who have the wrong hairstyle or have to wear headcoverings.

    Please explain how that constitutes repect of all religious traditions.

    If your really curious what schools I went to….
    Rigdegate Elementary
    Christa McCauliffe Middle School
    Willowridge High School
    Dulles High School

    And yeah, they had rodent problems too.

  4. Sarah Says:

    “Never did anyone in Needville ever say anything to that level. If you have such a problem with the school, why don’t you just home school? Hey, not only would it save your hassle, but it would save gas money.”

    CR,you don’t have to express discrimination in words per say. Your actions can say it all. Let’s not be ridiculously stupid here. Religious discrimination is just that;discrimination. I would be more pissed at the district for thinking that it’s okay to teach our children that it’s exceptable behavior than what one family could or would say about Needville. You probably voted for my cousin,George Bush,didn’t you?

  5. CR Says:

    Being a graduate of Needville and having friends that are Jewish who attended with me, when time came for them to wear their religious head garment. [Although hats are not allowed at Needville.] They were free to wear them which follows their legitimate culture.

    Considering this is only an internet forum, what actions can I even present without words? I also agree, discrimination is bad. When you try to pull something that is not of the sort to a level of this case, the definition of “discrimination” is lost.

  6. Sarah Says:

    CR,I should have made clear the people who are discriminating that I was speaking of. I was speaking of the actions of the school board. Not you. Apologies.

  7. Henry Says:

    How can you use your religion in as an arguement when you cant even teach chrisitanity in school.

Leave a Reply

