Part 5 of my fight.

If you missed it, were were on the news last night. Oddly enough, Mr. Rhodes did not give a statement on camera. I wonder why?
Link

 

Today I found something really funny on the NISD website (actually a few things). The first one is here:

http://www.boardbook.org/apps/bbv2/public/index.cfm?memberkey=0079906

Just a few days ago I printed up the Notice of Regular Meeting for the Board of Trustees scheduled for June 18. If you go to the linked page, there is no longer a notice about this month’s meeting. Strange, don’t you think? Especially considering what is on the agenda for discussion that evening.

Item 10. Review of Dress Code for 2008-09

Good thing I printed it the other day. I wouldn’t want to miss sitting in on such an important school board meeting. Oh and yeah, they are open to the public. Anyone want to go sit it on it with me?

I really find it interesting that the information for this month’s meeting has been pulled.

Some more interesting bits gleaned from the NISD website:

www.tasb.org/policy/pol/private/079906/

The Needville ISD Board Policy Manual, Section F under EQUAL EDUCATIONAL OPPURTUNITY

RELIGIOUS FREEDOM  The district may not substantially burdan a student’s free exercise of religion, unless the burden is in furtherance of a compelling governmental interest and is the least restrictive means of furthering that interest. Civ. Prac. & Rem. Code 110.003  [See also DAA and GA]

Now, I’ll have to do a bit of searching but I’m pretty sure that means you can’t make me cut my kid’s hair because there are other less restrictive ways of keeping it off the back of his shirt collar.

Also in the same section 9F) we find the STUDENT DRESS CONDUCT DRESS CODE ( I hate writing in all caps but out of respect for the school board’s manual I’ll write it as it appears there).

GROOMING REGULATIONS Hair length regulations that apply to boys but not to girls do not manifest such an affront to student’s constitutional rights to merit judicial intervention. Barber v. Colorado Indep. Sch. Dist., 901 S.W. 2d 447 (Tex. 1995); Bastrop Indep. Sch. Dist. v. Toungate, 958 S.W.2d (Tex. 1997)

Ok, I added the underlined part to “not to girls”. I would guess that means somebody challenged hair length on the grounds of gender discrimination at some point and lost so the NISD wrote it into policy. Obviously NISD was not involved because according to Mr. Rhodes no-one has ever challenged the Needville ISD hair policy. Well, until now anyway.

I have always been curious about teh argument that long hair on boys is a disruption. Again, how does someone’s hair hold enough power to stop another child from learning to read? Does long boy hair emmit some type of radiation that blocks other childrens brains from receiving information? Would a tin foil hat work as a shield against said hair radiation? Someone needs to apply for a grant to study this! We could send long-haired boys to infitrate terrorist groups and stop them from learning how to blow stuff up! Genius I say!

Ooops! Sorry, I think my sarcasm button got stuck again. Anyway, back to disruptions. According to the manual, disruptive activity in the classroom means: 

1. Emitting noise of an intensity that prevents or hinders classroom instruction.

2. Enticing or attempting to entice a student away from a class or other activity that the student is required to attend.

3. Preventing or attempting to prevent a student from attending a class or other school activity that the student is required to attend.

4. Entering a classroom without the consent of either the principal or teacher and, either through acts of misconduct or use of loud or profane language, dirupting class activities.

Hmmm…. nothing in there about hair. Can hair make loud noises? Maybe if you tied candy to it and dangled it front of another kid it would count as enticing a student out of class? I’ll be sure to tell my son not to do that.

Oh heres an interesting bit. Under more of the STUDENT DISCIPLINE stuff (all caps always reminds me of those mouthwash commercials with the voice that boomed GINGIVITIS!) there is a section for CORPORAL PUNISHMENT which states Reasonable corporal punishment is not prohibited in order to preserve an effective educational environment, free from disruption.

Really? Some teacher or principal unrelated to my child is going to take it upon themself to spank my kid? You really think so, huh? Try it, I dare you.

Ok, enough with the trivial stuff. Here is a really good one. In the section under STUDENT DISCPLINE  where they are talking about PLACEMENT IN A DISCIPLINARY ALTERNATIVE EDUCATION SETTING it gives me great pleasure to read the following:

STUDENTS YOUNGER THAN SIX  Notwithstanding any other provision of the Education Code, a student who is younger than six years of age may not be removed from class and placed in a DAEP, except that a student younger than six years of age who has been expelled pursuant to the Gun Free Schools Act [see FOD] may be provided educational services in a DAEP. Educational code 37.006(i)

Whats that Mr. Rhodes? You’re going to put my son into an “alternative educational setting” if he dares to come to kindergarten with long hair? Not according to your own written policy you’re not.

The policy also states that elementary age student will not be placed in DAEP with any other student who is not also elementary aged.

This is going to be very interesting.

Oh and don’t worry, I’m printing and saving everything just in case it dissapears or gets changed mysteriously.

5 Responses to “Part 5 of my fight.”

  1. Michelle McGehee Says:

    I would also do a screenshot copy of everything, so it captures the date and website, along with printing, so they can’t accuse you of altering before printing. I am praying of you and your family now and that everything gets resolved peacefully. I can’t believe that all this has come because of hair, all you all want is an education for him! This is sad.

  2. arie Says:

    If all she wanted was an education for him, she would follow rules like the ENTIRE COMMUNITY does.

  3. thestitchwitch Says:

    Free thinking is good Arie, you should try it some time. I find it quite invigorating myself. 🙂

  4. arie Says:

    Aaahhhh…cute! I think you spend a little too much time doing it! Free thinking is not the issue. It’s called discipline. You don’t always have the option for free thinking. Maybe you don’t work for a company to understand this concept. Democracy is not in schools.

    And FYI…I didn’t say our civil rights were crap, I said quit trying to make a mountain out of a molehill and claim it’s civil rights. You use the term way too freely. From the words of you in a response to another citizen, “I have property here and last time I checked it’s my right to do so”. So don’t tell me to move.

    If you don’t like a radio in a car, you don’t buy it. If you don’t like our school, don’t send him to it.

  5. Sarah Says:

    Arie,you obviously don’t know what civil rights are. I bet you know when “your” civil rights are tred upon,don’t you? As far as discipline goes,civil rights are there to “discipline” the people that infringe on them. I’ll put it in more simple terms for you since you don’t understand the reason for civil rights;it keeps the bad people in line. It stops them from telling others who to worship,what to wear,how to live your life,etc. It allows you your freedom of speech. Even from people who don’t know the basic fundementals of civil rights.

Leave a Reply

